Portland Reckless Driving Attorneys
The Portland reckless driving lawyers at Castleberry & Elison, P.C., realize that many people assume that traffic violations are less damaging than other criminal accusations. However, reckless driving charges are taken very seriously by law enforcement officials in Oregon. Because those accused of reckless driving are perceived as directly putting others in danger, anyone facing charges of this nature may be in danger of having a mark on their driving record and being punished with strict penalties.
The Portland reckless driving attorneys of Castleberry & Elison, P.C., understand the effects that reckless driving charges can have on your life, and we want to help you avoid these consequences. Contact our offices at 503-223-0011 to learn more about what our experienced attorneys can do to help you.
Understanding Reckless Driving Charges
In some cases, it is up to the discretion of the law enforcement officer on the scene to decide if he or she thinks a driver was acting recklessly or not. Depending on the severity of the situation, a person accused of reckless driving may face a Class A traffic violation charge. Punishments for this charge can include a $300 to $600 ticket along with other penalties such as:
- Hundreds of community services hours
- License suspension of at least 90 days
- Attendance in a traffic safety course
- Fines that can add up to as much as $12,500
To avoid these penalties, as well as additional complications that can follow you if you have a charge such as this on your driving record, it is important that those facing reckless driving charges contact an attorney as soon as possible.
For more information about fighting reckless or careless driving charges in Oregon, or for the legal representation you need if you are facing these charges, contact the Portland reckless driving attorneys of Castleberry & Elison, P.C., at 503-223-0011.